The 48 hour film project

Change is a good thing, right?

According to David Carr, you shouldn’t have nostalgia for nostalgia.

Information is so instant and changes so often nowadays, do we even have time to miss it?

If that’s the case making a film in 48 hours and moving on isn’t a bad idea.

I actually think it’s a great idea having just seen films that made it into The 48 Hour Film Project  at the Riverview Theater.

Filmmakers who were up for the challenge, which is done nationwide, are given a handful of rules on a Friday night and must turn in their creation by Sunday night.

The films must include a character, prop, line of dialogue and follow the genre issued by the project creators.

This year it was a Bobby or Betty Bulmer, a farmer/gardener, a lamp and “She told me it’s a secret.”

Thousands of filmmakers have made thousands of films across the world under two days of pressure. This year, it includes 120 cities and at least 60,000 people participating behind and in front of the camera.

I must say I was quite impressed by the films I saw.

Genres ranged from comedy to horror with themes of love, deceit, fear and the trending zombie apocalypse.

In the end the audience voted on three favorites and there will be a Best of Screening at 7 p.m. Wednesday, June 19, at the Riverview Theater.

Check. It. Out.

The Riverview Theater in itself defines nostalgia (see photos below by Amber LeRoux) and it is a really great place to take in a film.

I also recommend The Walker Art Center, which is where I saw Noah Baumbach’s latest “Frances Ha.”

Festivals coming up include the Twin Cities Film Fest in October and the Minneapolis St. Paul International Film Festival, which should come around again next spring.

Those festivals often have screenings at multiple theaters throughout the Twin Cities.

If you’re more into the history of film and the stars, the Weinstein Gallery has an exhibit of candid celebrity photos open through July 27.

I know this post is a bit of a different format for me, but the short films I saw this week are a reminder of how much else is out there in the art world.

Plus, as much as I would like to just write about it forever, I have already shared my analysis of “Frances Ha.”

Today a customer (I am a journalist by day and movie theater part-timer by night) asked what I thought about “Frances Ha.”

I simply said I enjoyed it enough to see it twice. She responded that it seemed fitting for someone my age.

I am going to go ahead and take that as a compliment.

Frances would want it that way.

Thanks for reading and stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

