Top Gun

“We’re going to have a good time, always.” – Goose.

Poor, poor, Goose.

I guess if you’re one of the few people who hasn’t seen “Top Gun,” stop reading this and go watch it. Now.

“Easy Cougar, bring him back.”

Top-Gun-FeaturedI don’t remember when I first saw “Top Gun,” but if there would be one movie I could pick to see again while sitting on a roof with a view of downtown Minneapolis in the background, it’s this one.

I’m not much of a Tom Cruise fan but the loop of Berlin’s “Take My Breath Away” in many scenes of this movie cancels out any disdain I have for his casting as Maverick.

I don’t remember this being such a romantic movie, but it swept me off my feet.

And don’t even get me started on the not one, but two, scenes with that song by The Righteous Brothers. You know the one.

“Top Gun” fits the bill as a classic 1980s movie and, in between swooning over the whole thing, I noticed the stunts and flight scenes were really well done.

I would like to go back in time and see what the buzz was before this movie came out in 1986, but in my mind the combination of action, romance and Val Kilmer as bad-boy Iceman make it something people should still be talking about at the water cooler.

imagesLook at it this way, it’s going on a month or so since my magical rooftop viewing and I am still pretty excited about how well “Top Gun” holds up today.

And then I found this ah-mazing information during my extensive research for this post.

Day. Made.

It will be hard to top the original “Top Gun,” but I am lucky to be of the generation that can appreciate the basis of a sequel even if it is a total flop.

All I can say to the powers that be behind a new “Top Gun” is …

“Don’t, don’t, don’t, don’t, let it slip away.”

One thought on “Top Gun

  1. You have to be a swooning Maverick, Goose and/or Iceman fan to crave a remake/sequel to this “classic” film:P Every time I think of this film, I get a handful of images. One of which is from the Oscars or Golden Globes at the time when they made a big deal about cinematography and sound editing. I think that may have been the same year Robocop came on stage to shoot the “enemy” police robot.

    I think I liked Tom slightly better in “The Last Samurai”. “Minority Report” was fairly good, too. I hated his version of “War of the Worlds”…absolutely hated it. I saw “Jerry McGuire” but wasn’t impressed. I think I saw “Risky Business,” but it was long, long ago, and I don’t remember much. “Rain Man” was also a solid film for him, though I seem to recall the ending not satisfying me.

    I am dreadfully afraid a “sequel” would have Tom cast as the aging commander and some “fresh face” teen heartthrob (or Channing Tatum) cast as the new “Maverick.” It would be nothing more than “Fly Boys” with modern planes instead of biplanes and zeppelins. It would be like “Torque 4: Crank It Up to Sex Gear”:P

    One final note: When I aged a few years and payed closer attention to Kenny Loggins’ lyrics, I saw the movie in a more sexual light. And, that took away from my enjoyment of the dog fights and motorcycle ego trips 😛

Leave a Reply

