For Wiggles and Giggles

As far as I know, the phrase “wiggles and giggles” has nothing to do with movies but I did hear it a lot from the guy who was fixing the heat at my office this week. He was talking on the phone with his boss or someone to help alleviate the problem and repeatedly said well, for “wiggles and giggles” why don’t we try this?

So, for wiggles and giggles here are some movies and television shows I am excited about at the moment.

My buddies Andy Greenwald and Chris Ryan over at Grantland said, during one of their many podcasts about Matthew McConaughey’s revival, that Jake Gyllenhaal is another fellow to watch out for on the big screen.

if there were a catch phrase like “McConaissance” that worked with his name I’d use it here.

untitled 3Post “Prisoners,” Gyllenhaal is working with director Denis Villeneuve again playing a real doppelganger role in “Enemy.”

Need I say more? The trailer is really all I needed to be on board for this film. Even though I didn’t like “Prisoners,” Gyllenhaal’s performance as Detective Loki did save the film.

Also of note is the upcoming “Nightcrawler” with Gyllenhaal as a man who discovers the underground world of freelance crime journalism in Los Angeles. Plus Rene Russo is in it. Maybe 2014 will be her year too. (No disrespect, “Major League” is one of my favorite movies.)

untitled 2I’ll conclude this stream of consciousness with another little tidbit I heard about on Grantland, the show “The Strain” coming out on FX in July. It stars Corey Stoll (who I really liked on “House of Cards”) as a doctor in New York City investigating, “a mysterious viral outbreak with hallmarks of an ancient and evil strain of vampirism.” Guillermo del Toro will be behind the camera as a writer, director and producer working with vampire-trilogy author Chuck Hogan.

I don’t know anything about the books and I have not followed the vampire craze in Hollyweird, but something makes me think this small-screen debut will be where it’s at.

Okay, that is all for today.

Oh wait! I didn’t watch it yet but my coworker told me about the documentary (on Netflix streaming) “The Price of Gold.” If you didn’t already guess, the film dissects the story of Tonya Harding and Nancy Kerrigan before “the attack.”

Watch it, you know, for wiggles and giggles.

Leave a Reply

