A Most Violent Year

Well If there is one thing I learned from watching A Most Violent Year, Jessica Chastain certainly knows how to put a district attorney who interrupts her daughter’s birthday party with a search warrant in his place.

chastainI believe “This was very disrespectful,” was the line from Chastain’s character, Anna Morales, as she leaves the attorney Lawrence (David Oyelowo) in the driveway with a piece of birthday cake while she politely ushers her guests out the door with party favors.

She does this while donning a 1981 haircut, outfit and manicure with her posh baby blue Mercedes somewhere in the vicinity. Oh and there is that cig in her hand. I don’t know how anyone cannot love Chastain after seeing her performance in this film. She is having a moment.

Chastain’s role is the wife of Abel Moreles (Oscar Isaac) who is trying to keep his business running and protect his family as violence in New York City runs rampant.

Morales’ business is a target of crooks, or perhaps his competition, who are stealing his fuel trucks to make a buck and put him out on the street. The crime goes so far as to impact his home life, case in point when his daughter finds a loaded gun in the bushes.

But Anna has her own ways of protecting the business and motives to keep Abel afloat and her children safe.

In the end it’s really a story of who you can trust and what people will do to get what they want. Even Lawrence, seemingly trying to save the city, might not be entirely innocent, even if he hasn’t broken the law.

Like Chastain, I would say Isaac is having a moment too. He certainly is a versatile actor, as demonstrated by his performances in the Coen brothers’ Inside Llewyn Davis and a darker, more violent film, Drive. He was also in The Two Faces of January (currently streaming on Netflix) last year. The film is based on a Patricia Highsmith novel and costars Kirsten Dunst and Viggo Mortensen. I liked the film, especially because it has undertones of The Talented Mr. Ripley.

If you haven’t seen many of Chastain’s films, definitely see Zero Dark Thirty and, while it was extremely sad, The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby.

She also has six films currently in production, including The Martian alongside none other than Matt Damon. All her other films look good too, but did I mention Matt Damon? It’s been a while, but I know I’ve done my share of gushing about him on this blog and now he’s doing a movie with my girl Jessica Chastain. It doesn’t get much better than that.

Damon’s character is an astronaut who becomes stranded in space after a failed mission to Mars. After a storm causes Mark Watney (Damon) to be left behind he needs to “draw upon his ingenuity, wit and spirit to subsist and find a way to signal to Earth that he is alive,” according to the film synopsis. if Matt Damon himself were actually stuck in space, I am sure he could find his way home. But I may be biased.

This brings me to a conversation I had with my coworkers at the movie theater … which celebrity would make you puke (from being nervous) if you were able to meet them? I certainly hope I wouldn’t actually puke, but my answer was of course Matt Damon.

And a close second, if not a tie, would be Bill Murray. But we all know how elusive he is these days. All you can hope is that he will randomly show up at your birthday party or something and not call you out for being disrespectful.

unnamedLucky for me, I do have his autograph as well as picture of him somewhere (which I need to find – so stay tuned.) He was playing golf at the Greater Milwaukee Open in 1994 and I gave my Dad a note to “Mr. Murray” with the hopes he would sign it.

I wasn’t allowed to miss school, as I remember it, to see Murray but I can’t complain about having this to show for it.

That is all.

bill murray 2 bill murray

Leave a Reply

