11 of 366: Altered States

alteredstates
theartofmoviestills.tumblr.com

I still don’t know exactly what to think about Altered States, but I will say I enjoyed pondering the film and William Hurt’s wardrobe  (when he has one) in between writing about money and debt and all that jazz today at work.

I don’t watch a lot of science fiction movies, but I did like the juxtaposition of Eddie Jessup’s (William Hurt) scientific quest to explore sensory deprivation and hallucinogenic drugs against his relationship and family life with Emily (Blair Brown) presented in Altered States.

The effects were impressive for 1980 and really brought out the film’s weirdness and Jessup’s dedication to finding out if different states of consciousness can cross over into reality.

Deep down I like to think that director Ken Russel and writer Paddy Chayefsky, who also penned the novel the film is based on, really wanted the viewer to question how far the characters would go for love or their career, or both.

What would it take for a William Hurt-type in the late 1960s to realize he can be in love?

In this case, it’s some weird stuff that I will never fully understand but he does fall in love. Maybe that’s all he ever wanted. I might watch this movie again someday or read the book, but not in 2016. I have to move on with my own quest. 355 to go!
Stars: 2 1/2 out of 4.
“Turn and face the strange / Ch-ch-changes / Oh look out now you rock and rollers / Pretty soon now you’re gonna get older.”
Leave a Reply

