62 of 366: Fading Gigolo

fding gigolo
imdb.com

I’m back. I would have kept up with my movies and blogging last weekend, but I was on a beach reading US Weekly and Jennifer Garner’s scathing Vanity Fair tell-all about Ben Affleck and nanny gate.

Okay, that is not even close to true. I was, however, near a beach that is still covered in snow and a frozen lake while visiting my family in Wisconsin. I was also US Weekly adjacent during the car ride there with my sister and nephew, but didn’t get to reading those as I was too busy gripping the door handle in fear (because that does a lot of good) most of the way due to incredibly icy roads (and I wasn’t even the one driving.)

It was a fun weekend aside from the ride there (again I am not sure I can complain because I didn’t have to drive in the wintry mess) as we played games, drank blood marys and heard all the new words my nephew loves to say before capping it off watching John Mulaney’s comedy special on Netflix.

Now I am back at my writing desk with the window open as the sun sets and my cat Fletch warms his body next to my aged computer.

I don’t normally listen to music while I write my blog (not counting the obnoxious tunes with base from my downstairs neighbor), but I thought some Dave Brubeck would fit with a post about Fading Gigolo and help get me back into the swing of things.

Written and directed by John Turturro, Fading Gigolo is the story of two long-time friends who enter into a strange arrangement during a crossroads in their lives when it comes to career, money and romance.

Floravante (Turturro) has some free time on his hands, other than working at a local flower shop, while Murray (Allen) just had to close his storied bookstore in Brooklyn and is is in need of some cash.

In a strange turn of events at his dermatologist’s office, Murray learns she (Sharon Stone) is interested in having a threesome and thinks Floravante might be the man for the job … as long as there is some money in it for him.

At first Floravante (perfect name for a romance story) is hesitant, but he decides to help Murray out in the name of friendship.

That part of the film was a selling point, but the plot was a little strange as the story continued and Murray arranges more conquests for his friend.

Allen plays his standard neurotic character, even though this wasn’t one of his films, and the dynamic between him and Turturro worked well outside of the story’s weak points and oddities.

The supporting cast of Stone, Sofia Vergara and Vanessa Paradis delivered some strong performances on their own but they didn’t fit very well with Allen and Turturro’s characters.

I did, however, enjoy the jazz music score and scenery from New York featured in the film.

You might consider Fading Gigolo for those reasons and as a glimpse at Turturro’s writing and directing style.

It’s good to be back here and planning for my week ahead in movies. Next up: Sicario and perhaps Nosferatu if the mood strikes me.

 

Leave a Reply

